Contact Us  (919) 775-5653

Personal Injury Lawyer

When you

Have the actions or negligence of another party caused you injury or damage to your body, property, reputation or rights? And has that injury brought on medical expenses, lost wages, damage to your property, pain, suffering or emotional distress?

If so, you may have case to bring a claim or lawsuit to recover those expenses.

North Carolina is a contributory negligence state, which means that if the insurance company can prove that you in any way contributed to your accident or injury, you may be barred from obtaining compensation. With the help of a good personal injury lawyer, you’ll know whether your case is strong enough to win.

The personal injury lawyers at Wilson & Reives know your rights and we want you to know them too. There’s no need to go through this traumatic process alone—we’re here to help you fight for the benefits you deserve.

What are common personal injury claims?

While every case is unique, here are some of the more common claims reported to personal injury lawyers:

Premises liability

Any injury or accident that you sustain on a property other than your own can fall under this type of claim. This includes slip and fall accidents, dog and animal bites and construction accidents.

Traumatic brain injury

While brain injuries can be overwhelming and life-changing, they’re not always immediately obvious injuries. Even a seemingly small brain trauma can have large implications over time.

Wrongful death

If a person dies due to the fault of another person or entity (like a car or drug manufacturer), the survivors may file a wrongful death lawsuit to seek compensation for their loss.

Automobile accident, product liability and medical malpractice are other types of claims that can factor into personal injury lawsuits. Another factor is any amount that you as the plaintiff are responsible for in respect of the injury. The personal injury lawyers at Wilson & Reives will be able to determine these and other questions during your free initial consultation.

Call (919) 775-5653 or contact us and set up a consultation to speak with an experienced personal injury lawyer about your case.

How much time do I have to file a personal injury claim?

If you feel you have a legitimate claim, we strongly suggest you meet with a personal injury lawyer as soon as possible to discuss the strength of your case.

In the state of North Carolina, the statute of limitations for personal injury case gives you 3 years from the date of injury to go civil court with a personal injury lawyer and file a lawsuit. If your claim involves products liability, you have 6 years from the date you purchased the defective product to initiate any action. If you fail to get your lawsuit filed before the window closes, the courts will likely refuse to hear your case, and you will lose your right to any benefits and compensation that might have otherwise been yours.

What could my claim be worth?

While a personal injury lawyer can best help you determine the possible worth of your claim, the person who injured you could be responsible for:

  • Past, current and future valued medical expenses
  • Any time lost from work, including time spent at doctor visits or physical therapist appointments
  • Any changes to your future earning ability due to your injury
  • Any damaged property, including your vehicle
  • Any permanent disability or disfigurement
  • The cost of hiring someone to perform household and caregiving chores if you are unable to perform them
  • Your physical pain and emotional suffering
  • Funeral expenses
  • Other costs that are a direct result of your injury

What will it cost to file a personal injury claim?

It will not cost you anything to come in for a consultation. At Wilson & Reives, PLLC, all personal injury consultations are given free of charge.

Wilson & Reives handles all personal injury claims on a “contingency fee” basis, generally taking 25% of any recovery (plus costs and expenses). This means that we do not charge any fees unless there is a recovery of benefits.

How do I begin filing a claim?

Don’t miss your opportunity to file a personal injury claim. First, speak with a personal injury lawyer as soon as possible so you can learn how strong a case you have.

Make a point to write down everything you remember about the injury or the accident, including the names and phone numbers of any witnesses, law officers and insurance company representatives.

Also, make sure you talk with a personal injury lawyer before making any written or verbal statements an insurance company.

The personal injury lawyers at Wilson & Reives are here to provide you with trusted, effective legal counsel. We’ll focus on your claim, allowing you to focus on recovery and moving your life forward.

Call us today to get a free consultation and receive the guidance and help you need – (919) 928-5843 or use our online Contact Form.

Contact Us